All you knit is love

Image

I’ve been knitting for about 8 years now, I would guess. And I can’t help laughing when I see people’s very surprised faces when I take up a a project and start knitting in public spaces (buses, trains, Uni, etc.). I know that I’m far from the youngest knitter around with my 20 years, but some still seem to believe that knitting is something old people do.

This weekend when I was working in a wool shop in Islington, London, I had a customer who was 12 years old. She had been knitting for a few years she said and would really like to start knitting a jumper! I was very impressed I must say. I’ve been thinking about the same thing for quite some time now but still haven’t decided if I should start one. Just to let you know, I have about 5 knitting projects on-going at this very moment. You know, for those days when you don’t feel like knitting socks, a scarf is better or maybe a hat for a loved one. Yep, that’s how I do it.

A big problem I have though is that I tend to buy quite a lot of new wool which I don’t really know what to do with, and it’s just lying there. I think that it’s part of the creating process though. You have the wool, but you don’t want to rush into making something and instead you have an inspiration and dreaming phase when you can just look at things that others have made, feel the wool, take in it’s colour and then, one day, you have an idea of what you want to make and you sit down and you do it.

I don’t know about you, but I like to look at other peoples pictures and patterns before I decide what to do and I’ve also found the perfect site to do this on. Ravelry is the knitters and crocheters version of facebook. Here you can find patters, look at others projects, get help with all your queries about knitting, crocheting, pattern abbreviations and so on. If you’re not on it already, sign up! It is completely free and absolutely great!

Love

Linnéa

 

One thought on “All you knit is love

Leave a comment